Archive | 9:41pm

Music Mondays | Thanksgiving Week 2009

23 Nov

While every post is dedicated to the Most High, we give an even extra boost of thanks this Thanksgiving week to the glory of Elohim, God on High. To Him who keeps His covenant of love, for Abba who is compassionate & tender with my brokenness. For Jehovah-Shalom, the Lord of Peace; to El Shaddai, God All-Sufficient. For Yahweh, who is always moved by goodness & in whom Love has its beginning and end. For Him who defies definition. Know that when praises go up blessings will come down. No matter what you may be facing, going through, or tested with, praise Him in advance. For joy comes in the morning.

Psalm 27 v1-14
1 The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear ? the LORD is the strength of my life;of whom shall I be afraid ? 2 When the wicked , even mine enemies and my foes , came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell . 3 Though an host should encamp against me, myheart shall not fear : though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident . 4 One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all thedays of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple. 5 For in the timeof trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock. 6 And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round aboutme: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing , yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD. 7 Hear , O LORD, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answerme. 8 When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek .9 Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leaveme not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation. 10 When my father and my mother forsakeme, then the LORD will take me up . 11 Teach me thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a plain path,because of mine enemies . 12 Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for falsewitnesses are risen up against me, and such as breathe out cruelty. 13 I had fainted, unless I hadbelieved to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage , and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait , I say, on the LORD. 

Grace & Peace be unto you
Tamika LaShay

What is Love?

23 Nov

People are Different.

Recognizing this fundamental truth is essential; to creating positive and loving relationships. 

In practice, however, we do not fully acknowledge that people are differ from us. Instead we are bent upon changing one another. We resent, resist and reject each others differences. We demand that the people in our lives feel, think, and behave as we would. And when they react differently we make them wrong or invalidate them; we try to fix them when they really need understanding and nurturing; we try to improve them when instead they need acceptance, appreciation, and trust.

We complain that that if only they would change, we could love them; if only they would agree, we could love them; if only they would feel the way we do, we could love them. 

What is love? Is love accepting and appreciating a person only when they fulfill our expectations? Is love the act of changing a person into what we want rather than what they choose to be? Is love caring for or trusting a person because they think they feel the way we do? 

Certainly this is not love. It may feel like love to the giver but not to the receiver. Real love is unconditional. It does not demand but affirms and values. Unconditional love is not possible without the recognition and acceptance of our differences. As long as we mistakenly believe that our most loved ones would be better off thinking, feeling, and behaving the way we do, true love is obstructed. Once we realize that not only are people different but they are supposed to be that way, obstacles to real love begin to fall away. 

Men, Woman and Relationships
John Gray, Ph.D.
_______________________

The above can be applied to ALL relationships (friendships, marriages, siblings, parents, etc.) Accept, appreciate, learn and embrace other’s diversity. It just may be the very thing you love about them or they love about you.